Solved

Mixpanel tracking a lot of nameless visitors

• 15 May 2020
  • 5 replies

I’m new to Mixpanel and just deployed my first tracking attempt. Everything seems good but right now we have a lot of nameless visitors (not yet signed up and aliased).

My questions are:

• Is this common for other Mixpanel trackers?
  • How do I hide them to focus on only signed up users who are aliased?
  • Would this kill my free Starter plan quickly? We tend to have a lot of visitors who are just checking out the site (or even drop off straightaway). It seems like we are sacrificing the tool for a lot of uninterested users.

Thanks in advance :)

icon

Best answer by ian 15 May 2020, 23:26

Hi there,

Happy to help!  To answer your first question regarding the missing field, the Name and Email fields are populated if you store a user property called $name and $email respectively, as these are reserved properties which you can read more about here.  For your remaining questions:

• Typically you want to store the information via the people.set() call when that information becomes available.  This is common for other Mixpanel users if they 1) don’t intend to track it or 2) use a different property naming convention as the ones listed above.
  • When aliasing users, are you also storing the user ID that you’re aliasing by?  If so, in the query builder at the top of explore, you can set a filter for user ID’s being set.  Presumably, you’re only aliasing once which is at the point that a user signs up.
  • If you are on a legacy events and profiles plan, the profiles plan can be affected by these unneeded profiles in Explore.  If you’re on an MTU plan, you can store as many profiles as you please as MTU’s are just the unique count of distinct_id’s that fired at least one event in the month.

Hope the above helps!

Ian

View original

5 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +2

Hi there,