Question

Duration track

• 26 July 2020
  • 1 reply

I have a certain event that I would like to track the duration of, and there are several user actions that could signal the end of said event. How do I (aka my developer) implement the track call so we receive the duration times correctly, no matter which way the user closed the event at matter?  

1 reply

Badge

Hey - I’m Rich and I’m an implementation manager at Mixpanel.

There’s 2 different ways that you can do this. One of them utilizes our Mixpanel time_event method and one relies on you/your dev team setting your own timer.  We’ll run through these options using a scenario where we want to time how long it takes a user to login until they either make a purchase or add something to a wish list. 

Using Mixpanel’s Time_Event Method:

Mixpanel’s time_event method takes an argument for a single event name. Essentially, the way that this method works is that you call the time_event method when you want the timer to start and tell us which event will be fired when the timer should end. Another thing to note here is that if the method is called a second time, it will overwrite the previous timer. 

In theory, we could just set multiple timers on login - one that listens for if a user adds something to their wishlist and one for if a user makes a purchase. However, the downside to this is if a user does both events, then we will have two sets of time for a single user. This isn’t likely what you really want as that single user will affect both the average time to make a purchase and aver time to add something to their wishlist even though they took longer to do one than the other.