Question

Sankey diagram not showing different user flows to final event

• 11 December 2020
  • 3 replies

I’m new to Mixpanel and just testing to see if it will work for our purposes. To that end I’m attempting to create a “Flows” report which visualises a user journey through different screens in our app but I don’t seem to be able to get the visualisation to show all the test data I have sent.

I have an event called: “TestScreen”. In that event I add a parameter called “name” which is set to a string which describes a page in the app.

I also have an event called: “TestComplete”.

In my app I am sending mock user flows through to mixpanel by logging the “TestScreen” event multiple times (3 second wait between each call) with different “name” parameters set. After the screen events I call the ‘TestComplete” event.

For reference I sent through flows containing the “TestScreen” event with these parameter flows (numbers signify the “name” parameter appended to the word Screen.

0, 1, 2, 3, 4

0, 3, 2, 1, 4

0, 3, 2, 5, 4

After all these flows I called the “TestComplete” event and in the live view I can see that all this data is coming through correctly.

I then set up a Flows report with the Step being the “TestComplete” event. I “Expand Eveents By Property” on “testScreen” events with the “name” parameter. I then add 5 steps before that event in the visualisation.

My expectation here would be I would see that while all ‘users’ start on Screen0 they then split between pages as a next step before combining back at “Screen4” before ending at the “TextComplete” event. However instead the visualisation suggests all all ‘users’ flow from Screen0 → Screen1 → Screen2 → Screen3 → Screen4 → TestComplete

Am I misunderstanding how this chart works? Or am I doing something wrong that is stopping the chart working correctly?

I have also attached an image showing my setup.

3 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +3

Hello @travisfgmnt,